Teaching and Learning

The T&L department is committed to supporting and cultivating the Mission, Vision and Values of the ESD. The Washington State Standards drive our instruction and we have community and staff vetted materials for teachers and students to use as they create and innovate towards success. We need to broaden the meaning of success to be student driven and evidence informed.  Eliminate inequity, embrace a growth mindset and create environments of innovation.

  • Curiosity

  • Excellence

  • Responsibility

  • Character

  • Equity

  • Diversity


Inclusionary Practices, equity for all.

Inclusive practice is an approach to teaching that recognizes the diversity of students, enabling all students to access course content, fully participate in learning activities and demonstrate their knowledge and strengths at assessment.

Inclusion is defined as the state of being included or being made a part of something. When a book covers many different ideas and subjects, it is an example of the inclusion of many ideas. When multiple people are all invited to be part of a group, this is an example of the inclusion of many different people.

 

Classrooms are filled with students who:

  • Have different needs
  • Come from different educational backgrounds 
  • Have different attention spans and interests
  • Have different language abilities 
  • Have different cultural backgrounds


UDL is Universal Design for Learning, an education framework based on decades of research in neuroscience and endorsed by the Every Student Succeeds Act (EESA). It is the model of instruction that the ESD is beginning to implement.  UDL is considered best practice in  teaching all students in an inclusive learning environment.  The goal of UDL is to create learners who are :

Purposeful & Motivated

Resourceful & and Knowledgeable 

Strategic & Goal-directed


Eatonville School District Strategic Plan

  1. Academic Excellence

  2. Supportive Learning Environment

  3. Partner with Families

  4. Communication 

  5. Fiscal Responsibility

The teaching model being implemented supports all areas of the Eatonville School District strategic plan.


 

Contact Information

Director of Teaching, Learning, and Diversity/Equity: Diane Heersink d.heersink@eatonvillschools.org

Educational Technology Lead: Travis Rush t.rush@eatonvilleschools.org

Executive Assistant: Kim Henley k.henley@eatonvilleschools.org

EOA Principal: Janna Rush j.rush@eatonviilleschools.org

EVA Principal: Allison Shew a.shew@eatonvilleschools.org

MRPP Principal: Linn Ames l.ames@eatonvilleschools.org

EOA, EVA & MRPP Secretary: Katey Peterson k.peterson@eatonvilleschools.org